Posted in Art, College Work, Final Major Project: Normalised Hate, Written Work

Account 1: The Pastor

Based on a True Story.

Written by: Castiel Gutierrez

      It had been years since I’d been in a relationship, though – it wasn’t the correct kind of relationship. I’m Transgender and my previous relationship was with a man before I came out. It killed me on the inside, being with someone I cared about but couldn’t actually be with. When I came out, we broke up and ended up just being friends. That was 6 years ago… While at my local transgender support group, I was told to try out a dating site to try and find someone.

So, after a lot of thought, I signed up to a site and got matches instantly, it seemed like there was hope. I met a girl called Lucille. She was beautiful! Long brown hair, bushy eyebrows, and wide hips.

After our fifth date, she went missing… I kept calling and texting but she never answered… A week after last seeing her, I decided to go and check on her. I drove to her house, parking up and heading up to the white and black house. When I got to the door, I knocked and was greeted by an elderly woman. “Hello, is Lucille here?”

She gasps. “Oh, you must be Michael! Come in, I’ll take you to Lucy.” She smiles, gesturing for me to go in. I entered as she closed the door behind me. I followed her to the back of the house, into the kitchen, then she said, “she’s doing some work for me in the basement if you want to go down and talk to her.”

I didn’t have any reason to be suspicious, so I obliged and went downstairs and found Lucille sat at a desk. “Luce?” I said as I walked toward her. As I did, she turned around in the chair, she was tied to it with duct tape over her mouth. I ran over to her but got struck down from behind before reaching her. I fell to the ground just short of her, staring up at the ceiling, my eyes blurred.

“You don’t get my daughter….” A man’s voice boomed. Her father stood over me as I drifted in and out of consciousness.

I was trapped down there, and being beaten by Lucille’s father and his thugs, for close to a week. Luckily, my roommate had remembered what Lucille’s last name was. The police barged in after being tipped off. They took Luce and myself to the hospital.

We were treated for broken bones. I was treated for internal bleeding while Lucille was treated for rape.

Her father and his choir boys were arrested and charged with fourteen counts of sexual assault, four counts of rape, and twenty-eight counts of grievous bodily harm. Her mother was also charged with keeping us captive against our will. During the trial, we found out why they did it – they found out that I’m Transgender, and with her father being a Pastor… Well, you know how that worked out…

When I finally got released from the hospital, my roommate made me aware that Lucille had gone to a homeless shelter due to her parent’s house being repossessed.

I went down to see her, she was still wearing a forensic suit that the police gave her to wear when they took her clothes as evidence. “What are you doing here?” She’d asked.

I didn’t say anything; I just took her hand, dragged her out of the dorm, signed her out and took her home. She’s been living with me ever since. And now, after years of fighting our demons, and Lucille thinking I’d want to leave her due to what her parents did, we’re getting married.

I love her, and she loves me. That’s all that really matters.

Author:

Hello! My name is Castiel Gutierrez. I'm Pansexual and an Enby Trans Man. I am a Graphic and Web Designer, Author, and Human Rights activist based in Yorkshire, England. I'm a Lover of food, video games, and music. And I'm probably the Queerest person you know ;)

Leave a Reply

